Rupnagar Short Tour - Punjab Tourism

Rupnagar Sightseeing Package

Sightseeing Detail

Rupnagar district, included in the Patiala Division of Punjab. Rupnagar (formerly known as Ropar) town, the district headquarters is 42 Kms from Chandigarh, the state capital. The district adjoins Nawanshahar, Mohali and Fatehgarh Sahib Districts of Punjab. The district comprises 4 Tehsils, Rupnagar, Anandpur Sahib, Nangal and Chamkaur Sahib and includes 624 villages and 6 towns namely Rupnagar, Chamkaur Sahib, Anandpur sahib, Morinda, Kiratpur Sahib and Nangal. All the towns except Chamkaur sahib fall on railways line. The Satluj river passes close (2 to 5 km) to the towns of Nangal, Rupnagar and Anandpur Sahib.

Start your tour to visit in Anandpur Sahib town, which is believed to have been founded by Guru TegBahadur, is situated near Rupnagar town. GurudwaraKeshgarh Sahib at the town is considered as the birthplace of Khalsa. Counted as one of the five holy seats of Sikhism, the site has religious significance for Sikhs. Gurudwara Parivar Vichhora Sahib is in proximity from Rupnagar. Situated on an elevated platform, this Sikh shrine can be reached by taking 84 steps. Construction of the gurudwara commenced in 1963 and was completed in 1975. It is believed that Guru Gobind Singh once visited this area after abandoning Anandpur Sahib Fort with his followers and family members. After this visit you can visit in Place of Treaty between Maharaja Ranjit Singh and Lord William Benetick. It is another sightseeing attraction in Rupnagar. The site of the Pipal Tree witnessed the historic treaty in 1831. The Governor General of India and Maharaja Ranjit Singh agreed on various terms for better administration of the northern region under the British regime.

Book Now=>>

  • Pick a date

Punjab's Forestry and Wildlife

The Unique eco-system of the Shivaliks is spread over a geographical area 9448.97 Sq. km, and lies in the north-eatern part of the state extending from north-west to south-east along the Himachal Pradesh Border. It is spread across the eastern part of the districts of Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar and Rupnagar

Read More